Good for you, good for the planet.

26 09 2008

I’m in a busy season in life, and it’s full of things to think about. So, right now, I’m trying to relax and recuperate, which means the thoughtful post I’ve been working on is yet to come. Perhaps that is why I’m intrigued by yet another example of how saving resources and living simply often go hand in hand. This article by Joanna Zucker, author of Millennium Mom, was featured on a commercial marketing site, but it’s full of great ideas that will reduce energy waste while preserving sanity during busy times. I’m a particular fan of the tips on reusable wrapping materials and saving boxes for future shipping (collapse them for storage under couches and beds). I’m also intrigued by the idea of cooking and freezing extral meals when you have the time to do it; the environmental benefit of firing up the kitchen appliances less often might be small, but it’s something.

Enjoy the article, and check back soon for one of my own.

Actions

Information

One response

28 09 2008
Mister Moone

Ms Zucker’s comments and suggestions are very useful…I also am an advocate for “all inclusive vacations” (though not cruises, per se)…it is also a good idea to recycle (reuse) wrapping paper others have given to us on gifts we’ve recieved (I actually get most of my wrapping paper this way).

Leave a Reply

